Galvony Fragments (2007)

February 14th, 2013

Galvony Fragments (2007)


Wind Quintet (fl, ob, cl, bsn, hn)

Score can be purchased here.


Galvony Fragments was begun in the summer of 2007 on the island of Mallorca as a diversion from the weightier task of finishing my PhD commentary that was currently preoccupying me. The work is entitled ‘Fragments’ because each of the five short movements can be viewed as fragments, or glimpses of larger pieces; each hints to a more substantial work somewhat similar to movie trailers at the cinema. That is not to say that these short pieces are unfinished, or that they have less importance then larger or longer works – I just liked the idea of putting together five very different pieces (both musically and stylistically) to form an interesting suite. Here modality, chromaticism, neo-classicism, plainchant and tonality all collide to form an unusual but, I hope, effective piece.       


Comments are closed.